Tags

, ,

It’s always nice to have a couple go-to recipes in your baking arsenal, and although this one is not necessarily wine related, it’s one of my favorite recipes. This banana bread is light but moist, it has a very good banana flavor enhanced with a touch of cinnamon. If I’m making a large batch, I stick to the butter or oil, however if I plan on hiding the product of my one-bowl mess, I substitute the oil or butter for my grandmother-in-law’s homemade applesauce. Now, don’t feel like you have to have a 94-year old grandmother who makes the most incredible sugar-free applesauce, it helps though, just use some plain ‘ol run-of-the-mill grocery store applesauce, or better yet, make your own.

But now I have to tell you the real reason I love this recipe, one bowl. Boom! {mind blown}. Believe me, I don’t have any trouble filling up my dishwasher with three boys, the last thing I need is precious “only used once even though I set plastic cups by the sink” drink glasses being replaced by a two awkward banana-bread bowls. No thank you. So, it’s easy, clean and tastes delicious, how many things can you say that about?

Image

one-bowl-banana-bread

(recipes makes two loaves)

4 ripe bananas mashed
1 cup of vegetable oil (or 1.5 cups of applesauce)
3 cups of sugar (you can substitute 2 cups of Stevia or Splenda for a little less guilt)
4 eggs
2 teaspoons of baking soda
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of salt
1/2 cup of milk
3 cups of flour

Preheat the oven to 350. Add everything but the flour. Mix well. Add the flour (no need to slowly add, I just dump it all in, it works.). Mix well. Spray two loaf pans. Distribute evenly. Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Let cool for 20ish minutes then turn them upside down and they fall right out. Pairs well with a tall glass or milk or personally, my morning cup of Vanilla Biscotti joe.

Enjoy.

